Back to top

UniSIM Faculty Tan Yan Weng Honoured At Supply Chain Asia Awards 2015

Associate Professor Tan Yan Weng, Head of the Logistics and Supply Chain Management, and Urban Transport Management programmes in the School of Business at SIM University (UniSIM), was presented with the Supply Chain Educator of the Year Award at the Supply Chain Asia (SCA) Awards 2015 held at Swissotel The Stamford, Singapore, on 19 November 2015.

The annual event is organised by SCA, a not-for-profit professional body that aims to bring professionals from within the logistics and supply chain industry together to share knowledge, learn from one another and create opportunities for collaborations. The guest-of-honour and award presenter this year was Mr Teo Ser Luck, Minister of State for Manpower and Mayor of North East District. Dr Robert Yap, Executive Chairman of YCH Group and Chairman of the SCA Board, gave the welcome address.

Considered the “Oscars” of the logistics and supply chain management industry in Asia, the event celebrates the contributions of distinguished individuals and companies. This year, a total of 26 awards were given out. Eleven corporate awards were presented to organisations to recognise their role in advancing the growth of the industry and their positive impact in business and economic development globally and regionally. Fifteen awards were presented to individuals to recognise their commitment in actively driving the industry forward and raising the profile of and standards within their organisation. The Supply Chain Educator of the Year Award acknowledges Associate Professor Tan as a top supply chain educator at a university or professional institution.

This award follows the nomination that UniSIM received at SCA Awards 2014, as one of the top five nominees for Supply Chain Education Institution of the Year. The 2015 award further demonstrates the traction that UniSIM’s Logistics and Supply Chain Management programme has gained in the education sector both locally and regionally.

(From left) Minister of State for Manpower Teo Ser Luck, Associate Professor Tan Yan Weng and Dr Robert Yap. 

Back to top