Autonomous Universities to Consider New Applications; Prospective Students May Apply By 17 May

Singapore, 30 April 2020 Given the global disruptions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, there may be prospective Singaporean undergraduates who were planning to study overseas, but now prefer to study locally. To support these students, all the Autonomous Universities (AUs) viz. the Nanyang Technological University (NTU), National University of Singapore (NUS), Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT), Singapore Management University (SMU), and Singapore University of Social Sciences (SUSS), will now consider applicants on a case-by-case basis, outside of their official application windows.

Interested applicants can refer to the respective AUs’ websites for more information and write directly to the AUs by 17 May 2020. As previously announced, the Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) will already be reopening its application portal from 4 to 17 May, so interested applicants can take advantage of this new window period. There is currently no change to the academic calendars for the remaining five AUs.

All AUs will assess the merit of each applicant and continue to ensure that admissions are based on open competition among eligible candidates.

The AUs are also aware that there may be students who are midway through their studies at overseas universities, and they are unable to continue with their studies during this period or may wish to pursue other forms of learning in the meantime. These students can sign up for Continuing Education and Training (CET) modular courses offered by the AUs, or enrol in an AU for a semester. However there is no guarantee of credit recognition by their home universities. Interested applicants can refer to the AUs’ websites for more information

– END –

For media queries and interviews, please contact: 
Ms Valerie Ng
Senior PR Manager, Communications & Marketing
Tel: 6248 0364

Mr Tian Zhiyuan
Manager, Communications & Marketing
Tel: 6248 8836

About the Singapore University of Social Sciences
SUSS is a university with a rich heritage in providing lifelong, learner-centric and industry-relevant education.  Our mission is to champion lifelong education to develop future thinkers and leaders to their fullest potential through our 3H’s education philosophy – ‘Head’ for professional competency with applied knowledge, ‘Heart’ for social awareness of the needs of the society, and ‘Habit’ for passion towards lifelong learning.

We offer more than 70 undergraduate and graduate programmes, available in full- and part-time study modes which are flexible, modular and multi-faceted in learning experience to cater to both fresh school leavers and adult learners. We also launched a broad range of continuing education and training modular courses for the professional skills and knowledge upgrading of our workforce.

Our programmes and courses are made available through our five schools:

  • S R Nathan School of Human Development
  • School of Business
  • School of Humanities and Behavioural Sciences
  • School of Law
  • School of Science and Technology

To date, over 30,000 graduates have chosen SUSS as their university of choice. Each year, about 15,000 students are pursuing their full- and part-time studies with us.

From 1 April 2019, the Institute for Adult Learning (IAL) became an autonomous institute of SUSS. Both entities enable a synergistic collaboration as IAL brings to SUSS its expertise and experience in adult learning and Continuing Education and Training (CET), while SUSS provides an ecosystem of resources and experts rooted in academic rigour.

For more information on SUSS, please visit

Back to top